State law only allows authorized individuals to receive certified copies of death records. A certified copy of a death record may be required to obtain death benefits, claim insurance proceeds, notify social security and obtain other services related to an individual's identity.
Those who are not authorized by law to receive a certified copy will receive a certified copy marked "Informational, Not a Valid Document to Establish Identity."
Show All Answers
Death Certificates are received from the Funeral Homes within 8 to 10 days from the date of death and then registered through our Vital Records office. A Certified Copy of a death that occurred in the current year and one-year prior are available at the Nevada County Vital Records office. Certificates older than 2 years are available at the Nevada County Clerk-Recorder's office.
In the case of a pending cause of death, the original Certificate is held in the Vital Records office until the amendment is received from the Coroner, usually within 60 to 90 days. Certified copies are available once the amendment has been received and processed.