Yes. All producers have the right to sell their unprocessed products from the point of production, i.e. their farm. If this isn't feasible, you can apply for permits to establish a produce stand at the nearest paved or main county road with the Planning Department and Environmental Health. You can also sell products directly to a wholesale or retail outlet. For more information please call 530-470-2690.
Show All Answers
You must the provide the buyer a record of Proof of Ownership and transport the produce in a box with all required markings, including the identity of the product, the responsible party (name and address of the farm, including zip code) and the quantity (either by measure or count). Boxes may be reused, but all previous markings, including trade marks and brand names, must be completely obliterated or covered up. For more information please call 530-470-2690.
There isn't any farm registry, however, certain types of products or selling in certain places may have additional requirements. Chicken eggs, nursery stock, marketing your products as organic, setting up a produce stand or selling at a farmers market all require separate types of registrations and certifications. For more information please call 530-470-2690.
Not until you have met all of the requirements and registered with California's State Organic Program. Using the term "organic" without completing the organic registration process is a violation of California state law. For more information please call 530-470-2690.
Chicken eggs require that you become a registered egg handler. It is currently a one-time, $15 fee. The program also sells a manual that describes all of the laws and reviews the labeling requirements.
You'll need to complete a certified producer's certificate with the county agriculture office. The certificate is an annual fee of $65 and includes a brief inspection of your growing grounds to verify you are growing what you claim on the certificate. For more information please call 530-470-2690.
All processed foods require a permit from Environmental Health. For more information please call 530-470-2690.