News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/12/2022 2:13:01 PM to 1/13/2022 4:57:05 PM.

News Flash

Home

Posted on: January 7, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Three Steps to Protect Yourself from COVID-19

Drawing showing virus particles escaping the loose mask of the person wearing it.

With both Delta and the highly transmissible Omicron variant circulating, COVID-19 case rates are on the rise in Nevada County. The increasing case rates mirror what’s happening throughout the state and nation as the predicted winter surge takes shape following the holidays.

Currently, Nevada County’s average case rate is at 43.9 cases per day over the last 7 days. The graph below shows the spike in cases over the last week alone.


Chart showing a sharp rise in COVID-19 cases over the last 7 days

Luckily, there are some simple and familiar steps you can take to protect yourself and your community from COVID-19 during the surge.

Three Steps to Protect Yourself from COVID-19

Consider Upgrading Your Mask

Wearing a mask will help prevent you and others from getting COVID-19. This is more important than ever with new, more easily transmitted variants like Omicron on the rise.

Here are some things to consider when choosing your mask:

  • Choose a mask with good fit and filtration. A well-fitted mask has no gaps between the face and mask. Good filtration blocks virus particles from getting through the mask itself. N95 and KN95 masks work best.
  • Double masking is an effective way to improve fit and filtration. A close-fitting cloth mask can be worn on top of a surgical mask to improve the seal of the mask to the face.
  • The best mask is the one you will wear over your nose and mouth. Find the mask that works best for you.

See CDPH’s Get the Most out of Masking website to learn more about how a mask can best protect you.

Stay Home If You Test Positive or Have Symptoms

Early COVID-19 symptoms can look very similar to the common cold. If you have a sore throat or the sniffles, don’t risk spreading COVID-19 to your loved ones.

  • Get tested if you think you may have COVID-19. Go to our Get Tested page to learn more about your testing options.
  • If you test positive for COVID-19 or were a close contact of someone who tested positive, see our Quarantine & Isolation page for information on your next steps.

Get Vaccinated and Get Boosted

74% of eligible Nevada County residents have had at least one dose of COVID-19 vaccine. The vaccines are safe, effective, and free for all California residents. Keep the following statistics from mid-December in mind when considering whether or not to get vaccinated:

  • Unvaccinated people are 10 times more likely to be hospitalized with COVID-19 than fully vaccinated people
  • Unvaccinated people are 16.6 times more likely to die from the virus than fully vaccinated people

Vaccinations continue to be our best line of defense against COVID-19. To learn more about your vaccination options, go to our Get Vaccinated page.

Together, the steps above will help you and your community weather the winter surge. To learn more about COVID-19 in Nevada County, go to MyNevadaCounty.com/Coronavirus.

 

 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

Burn Pile Safety

Burn Permits Required April 18, 2022

Posted on: April 15, 2022
California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) can be found at: www.mynevadacounty.com/ceqa

California Environmental Quality Act

Posted on: February 17, 2022
Sand and Sandbags

Rain on the Way

Posted on: December 10, 2021
Burn Pile_NewsFlash

Manage Your Burn Pile Safely

Posted on: November 19, 2021
Grass Valley Library Photo_NewsFlash

Library Extends Open Hours

Posted on: November 19, 2021
California to Offer Pfizer Booster Shots

California to Offer Pfizer Booster Shots

Posted on: September 28, 2021
Public Hearing Notice-news flash

Redistricting Public Workshop Notice

Posted on: July 15, 2021
River Fire Recovery

River Fire Recovery Resources

Posted on: August 9, 2021