News Flash

Home

Posted on: November 9, 2021

Nevada County Public Health Officer Removes Limits on Events, Leaves Masking Requirements in Place

Nevada County Public Health Officer Removes Limits on Events, Leaves Masking Requirements in Place

Nevada County’s Public Health Officer, Dr. Scott Kellermann has issued an amendment to his August 25, 2021 order to remove limits on events while leaving masking requirements in place. The amended order will go into effect at 12:01 am on November 10, 2021.

The amended order:

  • Removes the local prohibition on indoor and outdoor gatherings or events where 2,500 or more people will be in attendance.
  • Rescinds the requirement that events with 500 attendees or more develop and implement a plan to verify vaccination status or proof of a negative test.
  • Requires masking indoors regardless of vaccination status.
  • Requires masking outdoors where distancing is not possible.

According to Kellermann, the amended order allows event organizers to follow State guidance on events while leaving the local masking requirements in place.

“Masks are a simple and effective way to control the spread of the virus. We still have widespread transmission of COVID-19 in Nevada County and masking will help decrease the spread as the weather turns cold and more people gather indoors,” Kellermann said.

While the indoor mask mandate remains in place in Nevada County, Kellermann has made an exception for performers. The amended order, “allows performers who are fully vaccinated and have had a negative test for COVID-19 within 24 hours of their performance to not wear a mask while singing or performing.”

The order encourages those who wish to sponsor safe events to continue to require proof of vaccination or a negative test for COVID-19 within 72 hours regardless of the number of people attending the event. Patrons can now get a digital copy of their COVID-19 vaccine record to simplify the proof of vaccination process.

Kellermann noted that many local businesses and event organizers have voluntarily implemented their own similar requirements to keep their customers and patrons safe. “Our arts organizations have led the way on providing safe events for the community. We believe this change will decrease confusion between local and state requirements and allow our businesses and venues to plan for future events,” said Kellermann. 

The amended order comes as COVID-19 cases plateau in Nevada County. As of November 8th, the 7-day average case rate was 18.2 per 100,000 people, and hospitalizations for COVID-19 have remained stable over the past month. The Public Health Officer will continue to assess the public health situation as it evolves and may modify or issue additional orders as circumstances change.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

Glenbrook Kiosk

Glenbrook Historical Kiosk Restored

Posted on: June 28, 2022
Fire safety

Have a Fire Safe 4th of July

Posted on: July 1, 2022
Burn Pile Safety

Burn Permits Required April 18, 2022

Posted on: April 15, 2022
California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) can be found at: www.mynevadacounty.com/ceqa

California Environmental Quality Act

Posted on: February 17, 2022
Sand and Sandbags

Rain on the Way

Posted on: December 10, 2021
Burn Pile_NewsFlash

Manage Your Burn Pile Safely

Posted on: November 19, 2021
Grass Valley Library Photo_NewsFlash

Library Extends Open Hours

Posted on: November 19, 2021
California to Offer Pfizer Booster Shots

California to Offer Pfizer Booster Shots

Posted on: September 28, 2021
River Fire Recovery

River Fire Recovery Resources

Posted on: August 9, 2021